Bixby's Blog

Here's what I think…

Informational Interview Recap March 29, 2010

Filed under: PRCA — kbixby1 @ 6:16 pm

Hi Everyone!

I conducted an interview with a Public Relation’s Professional to increase my knowledge about the real world of Public Relations.  The PR Professional I chose to interview was Allie Burrow.   Allie graduated from Georgia Southern with a degree in Public Relations.  Allie is currently a Marketing Coordinator at Parkmobile USA, Inc. 

A typical week for Allie involves a regular schedule of arriving to work by 8 a.m.  Once Allie gets to work the first thing she usually does is check her Twitter/Facebook/LinkedIn.  She replies to all social Media and updates what Parkmobile is doing for that day or for the upcoming weeks. Allie also checks the City Bid lists (the city sends a bid out for parking services, meters or anything to do with parking.)  Allie gets the City Bid List emails and fills out forms to be recognized for those bids.

Parkmobile has a lot of conferences coming up.  Allie’s job includes booking the conferences and trade shows.  Since she is registered as a Parkmobile member, she can book the hotel rooms, schedule booth pickups and get all press materials ready.  For this specific week, Allie is writing four press releases.  The press releases are for different cities that her company is being launching in. Allie also coordinates radio remotes for Parkmobile Albuquerque launch that will be in April. Allie will be in charge of booking tables to promote Parkmobile in their current cities/Universities and getting ready to announce the company’s Mobile App on iTunes!!! Overall, Allie’s week entails working with a lot of social media and making sure that her company is ready with PR materials and press kits for all of their upcoming launches and conferences.

Allie is especially proud of figuring out how to write in html to insert Static FBML on facebook.  To keep current in the PR industry Allie lives, eats, and breaths Twitter and Facebook. Allie said that without those two tools she would not even have a job. She also claimed to be extremely active on PRSA’s website.   She follows all of PR’s major people including Barbara Nixon, Scott Monty and other influential PR pros. 

Allie was surprised by how broad the field of Public Relations! Allie said that it is not all “Samantha from Sex in the City” and that you have to do a lot of behind the scenes work!  Allie also wishes that she would have known just how much she would be writing and using Twitter and Facebook.  Allie believes that writing is important part of her career, but not as important as being able to use current social media. 

Allie’s three tips for future PR Professionals would be to stay connected, due as many internships as you financially/physically/mentally can, and know how to write in AP Style.  

After interviewing Allie, I am more likely to want to have a career in Public Relations. Allie seemed excited and passionate about her job.  Allie expressed that she enjoyed her field of work, and really takes pleasure in working for her company. Allie likes PR because it is different than having an ordinary job.  Allie says that PR allows you to be creative and think outside the box and that it’s never the same thing every day. This made me realize that I would love to have a career in Public Relations.

 

14 Responses to “Informational Interview Recap”

  1. candicehall Says:

    I really liked reading about your interview with a PR professional. I thought the fact that the professional you chose to interview said that Facebook and Twitter is so important to her job was particularly interesting. The professional I chose to interview told me that she wishes she had planned for social media to be so popular because now, she said she is struggling to keep up with the times. I guess we are lucky to have grown up right in the middle of the social media explosion! It sounds like the professional you interviewed has a pretty neat job! I would like to have a similar job in that, I love to Facebook and I think being able to go into work everyday and log into Facebook first thing would be pretty cool! haha. Sounds like you learned a lot through your interview. I am so happy that you are still motivated to work in public relations and I hope everything works out for the best for you!

  2. […] 9. Comment on Kristen Bixby’s Blog: Informational Interview Recap April 3, 2010 I really liked reading about your interview with a PR professional. I thought the fact that the professional you chose to interview said that Facebook and Twitter is so important to her job was particularly interesting. The professional I chose to interview told me that she wishes she had planned for social media to be so popular because now, she said she is struggling to keep up with the times. I guess we are lucky to have grown up right in the middle of the social media explosion! It sounds like the professional you interviewed has a pretty neat job! I would like to have a similar job in that, I love to Facebook and I think being able to go into work everyday and log into Facebook first thing would be pretty cool! haha. Sounds like you learned a lot through your interview. I am so happy that you are still motivated to work in public relations and I hope everything works out for the best for you! […]

  3. marielorelei Says:

    It would be wonderful if you could expand on what it means to “write in html to insert Static FBML on facebook.” I’m not sure what that means and there might be other readers that don’t either. There are always a couple of typographical errors in the post that made a couple of things hard to understand.

    I was pleased to read that Allie believes that it is important to know how to properly apply the guidelines of the AP style book. It’s always good to know that the things that we suffer to learn in college are things that are applicable in the future.

  4. […] Informational Interview Recap by Kristen […]

  5. Hi Kristin! I thought this interview was really informative. I’m surprised by how much Allie uses social media. If Facebook is what it takes to get a job today then I may be in better shape for the job market than I thought I was! Allie’s job seems like it’s really fun. It’s cool that she’s getting to be a part of launching the iTunes app for her company. It’s also good to know that all of the press releases we’re learning to write in school will come in handy when we get out in the real world. Allie’s tips were helpful and I will definitely keep them in mind and try to do as many internships as I possibly can.

  6. Sarah Kemp Says:

    Hey! I really liked this post on your interview with Allie. Her job sounds very interesting and you asked a lot of great questions. I thought that it was ironic that she said the first thing she does in the morning is check all of her social media sites. It is helpful that we do have the skills on facebooking, and twitter in order to use them in job interviews as skills that we posses. Also, I found it interesting that she said to know AP Style. I have worked a lot with APA, but really only my PR writing and Journalism class we have wrote in AP. I will need to brush up on my AP style skills!

  7. […] #5 kbixby1’s post “Informational Interview Recap” […]

  8. allykup123 Says:

    Great post! I know Allie Burrows and she is such a cool girl! She LOVES public relations so she is definitely someone that was a good choice to interview! Reading your post made it all seem so much more real that I am going to soon be out in the real world, working a job and having to support myself. It is a very scary thought but also really exciting!!! Overall, I got a lot out of reading this interview and would say that you set it up in a really cool way. Instead of doing it in a question and answer format, you used more of a story line and that made it interesting to read! Keep up the good work!

  9. laur22 Says:

    I think it is funny that Allie described working in PR as nothing like Samantha from Sex & the City! When people ask me what public relations is, sometimes I say “oh, it is what Samantha on SATC did.” Which is obviously a silly comment because she was usually with men instead. But I definitely held a sort of stereotype that PR was all glitz and glamour before I took classes in it. It will be interesting to see how much I implement Twitter and Facebook if I decide to pursue a career in event planning or PR when I graduate. I think the profession does not get enough credit for the hard work and planning that is required!

  10. […] “Informational Interview Recap” by Kristin […]

  11. mspille1 Says:

    I found your interview with Allie so insightful! It is crazy how much of an impact social media plays in public relations. I also noticed my interviewee expressed how important Twitter, Facebook and blogging is in her job. It is definitely a plus for our generation to know how to use these sites when applying for jobs!
    I agree that Samantha’s character on Sex and the City makes public relations seem so glamorous and just a lot of parties, but it actually entails a LOT of work! However, it seems like it will definitely be worth it!

  12. […] commented on Kristin Bixby’s blog about her interview with Allie […]

  13. Hey Kristin! I really enjoyed your blog and learned a lot of neat things that you had to offer about Allie. She seems to have a lot on her plate and constantly doing something! Parkmobile USA, Inc seems like a great company. I can tell that it will be a success and a great experience for her. The company is creating something very innovative and I think it will really make a big impact. It has become technological savvy with the rest of the world, and that’s very important! You have to be able to reach people’s needs and they are doing that! Thanks for the good information!


Leave a Reply

